Quantcast
     
/  NEWS  /  WARNINGS

To Subscribe!

Keep up with the latest news!


Not more than two times per week, you are going to receive the key takeaways of the most important events on the HYIP market 26369 subscribers are already in.
code
You can unsubscribe any time, just enter your e-mail, type in the captcha code and click the 'Unsubscribe'.

 

 

 

 

LIBERTYRESERVE INVEST SCAM

Tuesday, 19 July, 2011 at 10:31 GMT

Scammers have made up a new way of fooling investors and stealing their money. They again use a name of a popular payment processor LibertyReserve, however this time they do not provide an account number where you should send your money if you want to make a deposit in some super-profitable plan, but... created a new website that looks a lot like the official website of LibertyReserve. Here is the text of the email sent out by those scammers:

“With Liberty Reserve S.A. you no longer need to worry about your investments online. We are serving millions since 2002 and now you have the opportunity to invest in the worlds largest payment processor. We propose you three types of investment period: 1 week, 2 weeks and 4 weeks. After the investment period ends, a payment will be made to the same Liberty Reserve account deposit was received from. Choose your plan and click on Deposit Funds, then you will be transferred to the investment page. You can make direct investments here: http://www.libertyreserve-invest.net/ "

If you received such an email, do not invest in the offered plans because they are not from LibertyReserve. The official website of this payment processor is libertyreserve.com and the administration of LR has reminded many times that they never make any investment offers. You should never assume that if a particular website has "libertyreserve" word in its name, for example the above mentioned "libertyreserve-invest.net", it has anything to do with LibertyReserve. Be careful.

Alice Wilson, HYIPNews.com


 

Comments:
SteveyJ
 
19 July 2011 - 03:46 PM
This is a very clever scam. The scam site appears to be successfully linked to the genuine Liberty Reserve site, because it carries all the same content. The only difference I can see are the 3 Investment Plans on the title page.

I have not risked entering my account in case there is also a link that would betray my passwords and login code numbers.

I have sent Liberty Reserve an email asking the following :
http://libertyreserve-invest.net/ is a scam site that is linked to YOUR site in all aspects except it carries the invitation to invest in 3 Investment Plans.
What are you going to do about this ? You will have account holders who could suffer.
Also, are you going to ban U1111388 from your site as well as identifying and banning his IP address ?



I would like to think that LibRes will respond, but I am concerned as to how much Lib Res really cares about their account holders. This is because a little while ago I sent their abuse department a full report and details of one of their account holders pretending to be Lib Res, and their reply was effectively a shrug of the shoulders....So lets not hold our breath that Lib Reserve will do the decent thing and identify the scam IP and put a block on it.
Therefore, would the team at HYIPNews perhaps send off a similar email to LibReserve acting with the authority of representing roughly five and a half thousand forum members ?

I think we would all appreciate the extra input in trying to get Lib Reserve to actually do something constructive in protecting their so far good name...
Alice Wilson
 
19 July 2011 - 05:35 PM
Hey Stevey!

I have already contacted LibertyReserve and asked them questions regarding this scam website. I'm waiting for their response, however I don't think they will actively try to take actions. They placed a warning post on their official website a long time ago and do not warn against some particular scams.

Therefore we try to do their job for them at HYIPNews.com and publish warning articles from time to time. Of course, all users of LR do not read our newspaper, and lose their money because they believe that those scam emails and websites are genuine. It's a problem but there is nothing we can do unless LR takes actions itself.
SteveyJ
 
19 July 2011 - 05:49 PM
Hi Alice. I should have guessed you guys would be pro-active in chasing up Lib Res ! Thank you on all our behalf.

It does seem ridiculous that Lib Res have the power to block a scammer, - who is using their own site, their own name and their own internal account process in order to receive money, and yet they are unwilling to do anytjing at all about it. A simple warning and disclaimer from them is really not the kind of reponse any of us should expect from what purports to be an internationally respected and responsible organisation. Shame on them.

If I was running Lib Res, there is no way that a scammer would have access to my site once I had satisfied myself as to the evidence presented. I would not merely block his emails, but all header info/IP address access codes. I would protect my genuine account holders. I think their attitude stinks.

Well done to HYIPNews, it just goes to show that investors should sensibly read the various comments, warnings and information given out in this forum before embarking on any investment decisions.
Alice Wilson
 
20 July 2011 - 11:01 AM
Here is a response from LR:

Dear Customer

Thank you for contacting us.

Liberty Reserve is an account-based payment system where you can store value in U.S. dollars and transfer payments to others and receive payments from others. It is safe, reliable and confidential.

Please note that Liberty Reserve does not send out such e-mails. The only e-mails you may receive from Liberty Reserve would be your payment confirmations and sent message confirmations.

Never assume that if a particular website or email has the words "Liberty Reserve" in its name, for example, “libertyreserve-profit.com” or “libertyforfree.com” , it has anything to do with, or is endorsed by, Liberty Reserve. This is a type of intellectual property fraud where criminals use Liberty Reserve's trademarks without Liberty Reserve's permission.

It has come to our attention that there have been reports of e-mails appearing to be sent from Liberty Reserve web site regarding an investment opportunity. Please note that Liberty Reserve DOES NOT offer ANY investment opportunities directly or indirectly. The ONLY business Liberty Reserve is in - to execute instructions of our customers correctly, securely and in timely manner regarding their transfers to other Liberty Reserve account holders. Any claims otherwise by anyone are false and misleading.

We ask you to forward all suspicious e-mails to our abuse department via ticketing system so that we can investigate the source and take appropriate action against those in violation of our Terms of Service. Please always exercise extreme caution when conducting any business on-line and perform your own due diligence on any entity you wish to do business with on-line. This does not only apply to Liberty Reserve account holders, but it is a good practice in general.

For further information you may contact our Live Chat Support, we will be glad to assist you.

*****
This is a security tip for you.

Download the version of our LibertyGuard for Firefox version 3.5/3.6 Is easy, free, and the most important keep your account safe from phishing emails and fake sites.


Andrew Lusk

Customer Service.
SteveyJ
 
20 July 2011 - 05:20 PM
Hi Alice. Thanks for displaying their reply. Good to see that they invite [you] to forward copy information across to their abuse department. It will be interesting to see what, if any, feedback their abuse department gives you....

I'm still not too impressed by Lib Reserve's lacklustre approach to such scams though. You'd think they would take on board the information as already presented, get off their backsides and do something about it fairly quickly...

I note that their reply is a fairly standard response, - I imagine you will be pointing out to them that it is not merely emails purporting to be coming from LR that investors are worried about, but even more worrying, that there is an entire website clone of LR, identical in all aspects to the real LR website, including live/current information, the only difference being the 3 Investment Plan offer on the title page.

So LR need to worry that the scammer has been able to link the real LR site with the scam site....Let's hope you get more than a stock reply next time.....fingers crossed !
Guest
 
7 December 2011 - 09:08 PM
hello

 

Fast Reply

You are not logged in and will leave your comment as guest. Please log in. Or register.
Security code:code   

 

RELATED NEWS
NIXTRADE LAUNCHES REPRESENTATIVE PROGRAM
NEWGNI ON POSSIBLE CHANGING PLANS AND SWEEPSTAKES COMPETITION
PAYZA NEW FEATURE AND PAYMENT BUTTONS
PAYZA SUPPORT UPDATES
EUREX TRADE FAKE EMAILS

 

Voting

What is more helpful and effective in your HYIP investing activity HYIP Blogs or HYIP Monitor?
HYIP Blog
HYIP Monitor
 

 

 

HYIP Calculator

 

Forum Discuss

ChokoPower: PAYOUTS
Replies: 0     Last post: 21-05-2012

 

ChokoPower: TESTIMONIALS
Replies: 0     Last post: 21-05-2012

 

INTRODUCING OF HYIP INVESTORS
Replies: 30     Last post: 20-05-2012

 

TomNex: PAYOUTS
Replies: 0     Last post: 20-05-2012

 

TomNex: TESTIMONIALS
Replies: 0     Last post: 20-05-2012

 

Archive